‘What I Wish You’d Told Me’ by Rochelle Jewel Shapiro

I love the convenience of short stories! For a commuter like myself these are perfect for dipping into and out of during those hectic journeys. I also like the fact that these stories, due to word limit constraints, do not give everything away but get the reader in a reflective mood.

I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to review this book for free via http://www.netgalley.com and I loved it!

WIWYTM is a collection of three stories exploring themes such as friendship, illness and family conflicts. The first tale, ‘Secrets’ looks at the changing friendship of two adolescent girls on the discovery of the death of an old man…or a dog, a fact up for debate. The elephant in the room is never discussed and the friends drift further apart, battling the hormonal imbalances of puberty as well as the growing tensions between them. I enjoyed the characters in this story as I felt they were believable and relevant.

The second story, ‘A Sympathetic Listener’  examines the journey of Danielle, a 24 year old cancer sufferer and her battle to come to terms with her illness and the way in which she relates to her world. She befriends a healer who challenges her attitudes to life, with comic interludes. This story had me giggling out loud in parts despite the serious subject matter involved.

Finally, ‘Great-aunt Mariah and the Gigolo’ looked at family secrets and the sexual confidence of a relative harbouring a great moral misdemeanor. I thought the family dynamic as well as the sexual curiosity of children very interesting,humorous and insightful.

I would recommend this to anyone who loves characters with depth.

~Boop

Leave a Reply

