Mince-spiced carrot cupcakes

Yesterday I felt like baking. It relaxes me and it helps that I always have a willing taster in my ‘bear’. I had lots of carrots from the local farmers’ market and have always wanted to try my hand at making carrot cake so I googled recipes and tried the first one I found.DSC_2059

I used http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/470640/carrot-and-cream-cheese-cupcakes but did not have all of the listed ingredients so had to make a few risky substitutions. This resulted in the juiciest spicy carrot cupcakes ever!

 

Ingredients from online source

  • 175g brown muscovado sugar
  •  100g wholemeal self-raising flour
  •  100g self-raising flour
  •  1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  •  2 tsp mixed spice
  •  zest 1 orange
  •  2 eggs
  •  150ml sunflower oil
  •  200g carrots, grated
  •  orange coloured sprinkles, to decorate

 

Ingredients I used

  • 175g demarara/granulated sugar
  •  200g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp mincemeat
  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml olive oil
  • 200g carrots, grated
  • 2tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp milk

*I have omitted to copy the ingredients list for the icing as I did not use it. I cheated again and used ready made icing for my photographs!*

This was the method I used for the cakes only:

Method

  • Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4 and line a 12-hole muffin tin with cases.
  • In a large mixing bowl, mix the sugar, flour, baking powder and mincemeat.
  • Whisk together the eggs and oil, add the vanilla extract, then stir into the dry ingredients with the grated carrot.
  • Add milk until mixture becomes a looser consistency.
  • Divide the mixture between cases and bake for 20-22 mins until a skewer poked in comes out clean.
  • Cool on a wire rack before icing (optional)

Makes 12

DSC_2057

Why not give them a try!

Leave a Reply

